Skip to content

Still Alive – GPS and Finding Stops

November 26, 2010

Don’t worry, the TriMet Tracker isn’t dead yet, I’ve just been busy with other things (mostly school).

TriMet recently opened up a new API for us developers that makes it easy to find bus stops around a given location. So the next feature I would like to add is the ability for the phone to find bus stops near you. This is one that’s been requested for a long time, but I haven’t been able to implement it because getting access to the bus stop’s location data meant that I needed my own webserver, which costs money. And starving college students are short on money.

The other feature I’d like to add into the next release is being able to use the phone’s GPS to pick out your current location in the Trip Planner.

Speaking of money, I’ve added a paypal donate button on the right side. If you’ve enjoyed my app and want to compensate me or encourage me to continue developing it, please consider a small donation.

I’d also like to thank everyone that’s downloaded my app, the response has been amazing. So far I’ve gotten 2487 unique downloads. For an app that only applies to people who both live in the Portland area and own a Palm device, that number makes me very happy.

From → TriMet Tracker

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

